Landmarks

Growing up in the city, a number of familiar landmarks became symbols of my childhood memories. As a little girl, I loved those huge red lips on the Magikist sign alongside the expressway that my sisters and I would watch for on our frequent Sunday drives with our parents. As our white Ford station wagon rounded the bend in the road, we knew we were almost Downtown when we saw them. Undoubtedly, someone in the car would have to make the sound of a kiss as we passed by because that’s what little girls do. The lips succumbed to the wear and tear of age and had to be taken down sometime in the early 90’s.

The massive grounds of US Steel South Works just east of our house provided jobs for most of our fathers and grandfathers. We would look up at the red glow in the sky every night around 9:00 pm and my Dad would announce, “They’re pouring the slag!” Every time we passed by, he would point out the building that he once worked in and explain how the steel was made. Every time! The mills are long gone now, a result of the downturn of the steel industry in the 80’s.

Some of my landmarks became familiar memories for my children. They learned to watch for the triple smoke stacks of the city’s Calumet Incinerator as we exited the expressway on our trips from the suburbs to their grandparents’ homes. Depending on which grandparents we were heading to visit, they could tell us to “Go left!” or “Go right!” at the fork in the road.

And then there are the viaducts, so dominant in Chicago neighborhoods, that raise the railroad tracks high above the street. They would get really excited if a train was traveling overhead as we passed underneath, just like I would when I was young. As we came out the other side, their Grandma’s house came into view and my daughter undoubtedly would announce, “We’re almost there!” She would ask why we didn’t have “viducks” by our house pretty much all the time.

I have one sister-in-law who still lives in the old neighborhood, home to my childhood memories. We celebrated with family at her house this past holiday. My children are no longer buckled up in the back seat of my car. They’re adults now, driving from their own homes. But I’m pretty sure that when my daughter saw the familiar image of the viaducts, she whispered to herself, “Almost there!”

4 thoughts on “Landmarks

  1. I loved how you took me through parts of town that are special to you…and included your reflections on what they were in their glory days as compared to what is now. It isn’t reassuring (at least I don’t think) how everything changes , but even still, the places of our youth remain glowing and unblemished only because they reside in the safety of our memories. I also loved how you dropped hints initially about where you live…this is my first time on your blog, so I had come to the conclusion mid-piece that you lived in the region…NW Indiana… 🙂 Thanks for letting me travel with you today!

  2. As a Chicagoan, I enjoyed the “ride”. I just love that you made the smooch sound at the Magikist sign…I miss that sign. Whenever my family and I return from a long trip I tear up at the sight of the skyline–not sure why. Memories tend to capture our emotions through landmarks. You did a wonderful job describing these memories.

  3. Very sentimental piece. I picture your kids buckled up in the back seat and now I see an empty back seat. I know they’ve grown into adults that you are very proud of….but there’s still a tinge of sadness. I remember those lips!!!!

  4. I have memories of landmarks similar to this, but they were on our yearly trip to Michigan to visit my aunt and cousins (we called them “The Michigans”).
    The line about your kids no longer being buckled in your back seat hit a sweet spot for me. And that ending – perfect. Brought a little tear to my eye.
    (Side note – this damn challenge has made me realize I’m a big, huge, giant sap.)

Leave a comment