Silver Bells

The refrigerator door swings wide so that I can deposit my items inside. There they are, staring right at me, calling my name. Those Silver Bells…a.k.a. Hershey’s Kisses.

I can’t. I shouldn’t. No one will care. I shouldn’t. I can’t.

I do. Just one. Delicious!

One more won’t hurt. Equally delicious.

A handful of Silver Bells is deposited on my desk in front of the three of us. I hear my name again. Do I dare be the first to take one?

I can’t. I shouldn’t. No one will care. I shouldn’t. I can’t.

I do. Just one. Delicious!

One turns into a few more as we sit and talk, each of us casually taking one at a time until they’re all gone.

I have no willpower. I envy the people I know who can resist those little chocolate temptations. I really should try harder.

Willpower is definitely over rated.

15 thoughts on “Silver Bells

  1. I love this. Partly because I could have written it myself. 🙂 I have zero willpower with chocolate. This slice is just a perfect expression of that.

  2. Oh the tug ‘o war between eating the SB’s and leaving them be! I had to bring them down for our meeting because if I didn’t I would have eaten them ALL by myself. Now that would have been very unpleasant!

  3. Very relate-able inner battle. My college friends always say it doesn’t count when its eaten in the company of friends! That always makes me feel better.

  4. Kisses cure everything! We keep some with our band aids. Boo busters. I love how you refer to them as “silver bells”.

Leave a comment