Skills

A fellow slicer reminded me yesterday about the true beauty of snow when it’s falling to the ground. With my fresh cup of coffee in hand, I stood in the kitchen this morning and looked out at the snow falling gently…yet again. I said to myself, “Yes, it is a beautiful scene.”

Fast forward to the garage door opening and backing the car out to face another long morning commute on slick, snow-covered roads and I said to myself, “Are you kidding me? Again?”

Driving on mornings like this is such a challenge.

There’s the salt truck dilemma. Should I stay behind him and follow the plowed, salted path he’s creating, albeit slowly, or should I pass him in the other lane to the sound of those same pieces of salt slamming against the side of my car?

There’s the semi-truck situation. Should I stay behind that truck or pass him and take the chance that neither of us will slide and create a tangled mess together?

There’s the heat debate. Should I leave the heat on so the windows stay clear or do I turn it off, even though the windows will fog up, because the temperature inside the car is stifling?

Then there’s the car with a mind of its own. Doesn’t it know that when I start off after a red light, the rear wheels should be following straight ahead with the front wheels…not sliding to the left? I take my foot off the gas and let everything straighten itself out before trying again, this time with a slightly more gentle push of the gas pedal.

And what’s up with that guy behind me who’s been right on my tail for the last mile? Does he want to drive right over me? I know the speed limit says 45 MPH, but it’s okay that we’re only doing 30. After all, the cars in front of us are only doing 30.

Keep the windows clear, take it slow, two hands on the wheel, take it slow, check mirrors frequently, take it slow, leave plenty of space between vehicles, take it slow, let the idiot who wants to speed pass by, take it slow, don’t jump in front of a turning car, take it slow, gentle pressure on the gas pedal, take it slow, be prepared to gently press the brakes, take it slow, and most importantly…take it slow.

At least I’m honing my winter driving skills.

The trip only took an extra 15 minutes this morning. That wasn’t too bad, and my car and I made it in one piece. Pulling into the parking lot, I see it’s covered in snow. I look back as I walk away from the parking spot and I see that I am taking up two spaces and the yellow line is right smack in the middle of my car.

Oh, well. I’ll hone up on my parking skills another day.

15 thoughts on “Skills

  1. I loved this slice because I loved thinking through your morning commute with you. All the blessings of living in location that (enjoys?) all four seasons…and a double dose of winter this year! Your descriptors, the way you revisited ideas, and the way you held your theme together were all pluses! πŸ™‚

  2. I was completely wrapped up in your driving experience. I get anxiety driving because of…. the salt truck dilemma, the semi dilemma, the heat dilemma, the guy who’s been on my tail dilemma. Thank you for sharing.

  3. I have this drive…except mine is much shorter thank goodness. I love that despite finding the beauty in the day, some true winter feelings still made their way out. πŸ™‚ The parking cracks me up. Great slice!

  4. This is hilarious. I thought of your piece when I woke up this morning too and I wished I liked the snow at all but I don’t. I’m so glad you don’t today either.

    My favorite is the situations you set up here. Wonderfully constructed with a clever punchline each time!

  5. I started laughing at “plow truck.” Because of my post (today) that included letting people turn ahead of me in line, I let a plow truck enter this morning. It slowed me down at least 5 minutes! I love the humor in this piece, and the repetition of “take it slow.”

  6. So skillfully written! My favorite part? The individual paragraphs about the dilemmas you faced on your drive. I also loved the “self-talk” – I’ll bet we all do that in the car when we’re alone. I know I do. It somehow makes me feel safer. The part I could relate to the most? The stifling heat in the car. You got me there!!!!

  7. Cathy, I love this! The tug of war between thoughts. The humor, use of repeated lines, the title…all of it brilliant! I burst out in laughter with the description of your parking job.

Leave a comment