Abandoned House

I pass it every morning and afternoon, but I never actually noticed it before.

A sagging roof patched in multiple areas. Its multi-colored ashphalt shingles crumbling from age.

Filthy windows that are cracked and shattered.

Sun-faded siding falling off here and there.

This abandoned house, now obscured from view by the over grown shrubs and weeds.

I pass it every morning and afternoon, but I never actually noticed it before.

Until this day.

Until I read the words of a prolific student writer:

As I walk home, I walk on dead land past an abandoned house. Then I realized we all at some point become an abandoned house……Like an abandoned house we can choose to rebuild ourselves or let ourselves rot in great despair…..

I pass it every morning and afternoon. Thanks to a young writer, now I notice it every day.

And I wonder whose life it once held within its walls.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Abandoned House

  1. Prolific student writer INDEED!!! What a way with words this little person has. So much so that it made an impact on you as a reader and you now notice what wasn’t noticed before. Well, you also notice because you are a writer!!!! Such vivid words used to describe the abandoned house.

  2. Oooh, I love the whole concept. How awesomely precocious and perceptive of this young writer to grasp such an analogy… and your thought of the lives and stories spun between the walls of the dilapidated walls. So cool and thought provoking to see the material aftermath of a space, and imagine the life that once flourished there.

Leave a Reply

