Abandoned House

I pass it every morning and afternoon, but I never actually noticed it before.

A sagging roof patched in multiple areas. Its multi-colored ashphalt shingles crumbling from age.

Filthy windows that are cracked and shattered.

Sun-faded siding falling off here and there.

This abandoned house, now obscured from view by the over grown shrubs and weeds.

I pass it every morning and afternoon, but I never actually noticed it before.

Until this day.

Until I read the words of a prolific student writer:

As I walk home, I walk on dead land past an abandoned house. Then I realized we all at some point become an abandoned house……Like an abandoned house we can choose to rebuild ourselves or let ourselves rot in great despair…..

I pass it every morning and afternoon. Thanks to a young writer, now I notice it every day.

And I wonder whose life it once held within its walls.

 

 

